Maryland police officer named National School Resource Officer of the Year

Organization honors additional school resource officer for valor

Published Wednesday, August 5, 2020 9:30 am by Jay Farlow

August 5, 2020 — Hoover, Ala. — The National Association of School Resource Officers (NASRO) today presented its Floyd Ledbetter National School Resource Officer of the Year Award to Officer Danielle Moore of the Baltimore County Police Department, Baltimore. The annual award recognizes school resource officers (SROs; specially trained law enforcement officers assigned to work in schools) who have made specific and significant contributions to their local communities and/or school districts.

NASRO presented the award this morning, during a virtual ceremony as part of its annual National School Safety Conference. The organization is conducting its entire conference virtually this year, to limit opportunities for the spread of COVID-19.

“Officer Moore has demonstrated unparalleled commitment to Overlea High School students and the school community through her engaging law-related instruction, supportive and trusting relationships with students and staff, focused efforts toward school safety and proactive violence prevention, and dedicated mentorship of all, but especially at-risk, students,” said Mo Canady, NASRO’s executive director.

Also this morning, NASRO bestowed its National Award of Valor upon Officer Michael Wissink of the Oshkosh, Wisconsin, Police Department. On December 3, 2019, while Wissink attempted to assist a student who entered his office with a request, the student stabbed Wissink in the neck. Wissink countered the attack, fought to detain the student from fleeing, and restrained him to prevent violent action that likely would have caused serious injury or loss of life to students and school staff.

“Officer Wissink’s bravery and tenacity in the face of grave injury to himself demonstrate his dedicated commitment to serve and protect his school community,” Canady said.

In addition to those listed above, NASRO presented the following awards at today’s ceremony:

Presidential Citation for special recognition from the NASRO president: Sgt. Joseph Ivankay of the Los Angeles School Police Department, who restrained a crime spree suspect after being struck by the suspect’s vehicle.

Chief Nicholas C. Derzis Safe Schools Leadership Award for contributions and dedication to a school resource officer (SRO) program: David McCommons, Ed.D., Deputy Superintendent, Fox Chapel Area School District, Pittsburgh.

Regional Exceptional Service Award for continuous and sustained service to the school community above and beyond that normally expected of an SRO:

  • Brian Donohoe, Wicomico County Sheriff’s Office, Salisbury, Md.
  • Officer John Bruner, Safety and Security Coordinator, Keystone Oaks School District Police, Pittsburgh.
  • Officer Kathleen McGrath, School Resource Officer, Framingham Police Department, Framingham, Mass.
  • Julie Quesenbery, Columbus Police Department, Columbus, Ind.
  • Officer Jon Autrey, School Resource Officer, Hoover Police Department, Hoover, Ala.
  • Officer Todd Runyan, School Resource Officer, Sioux Falls Police Department, Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Officer Francisco Alba, Denver Police Department, Denver

Model SRO Agency Award for exemplifying in training, policies and standards, the NASRO triad concept, which describes an SRO’s role as mentor, guest lecturer and law enforcement officer; and demonstrating creative and innovative approaches to school-based policing:

  • Clark-Pleasant Police Department, Whiteland, Ind.
  • Argyle Independent School District Police Department, Argyle, Texas
  • Baldwin County Sheriff’s Office School Resource-Community Outreach Unit, Bay Minette, Ala.
  • Tulsa County Sheriff’s Office, Tulsa, Okla.
  • West Fargo Police Department, West Fargo, N.D.


NASRO is a nonprofit organization for school-based law enforcement officers, school administrators, and school security and safety professionals working as partners to protect students, school faculty and staff, and the schools they attend. NASRO is headquartered in Hoover, Alabama, and it was established in 1991. For more information, visit www.nasro.org.

Media Contact:

Jay Farlow
Jani Spede Public Relations
(866) 923-9980 ext. 2