Award Nominations

NASRO seeks to recognize excellence in the field of the School Resource Officer and school based policing at the 2020 National School Safety Conference in Dallas, TX. Below is a description of the awards that will be presented:

Floyd Ledbetter National School Resource Officer of the Year Award
This award recognizes an SRO that has made a specific and significant contribution to their local town, city, county and/or school district. These honorees are nominated by their peers, supervisors, school/school district, student and faculty.

Regional Exceptional Service Awards
Exceptional Service Awards are present to those individuals for continuous and sustained service to the school community above and beyond that expected of a normal SRO or school staff member.

Safe School Leadership Award
Leadership Awards are presented to those individuals that are willing to support and further develop the SRO partnership, exemplify leadership, innovation, dedication and proactive measures to enhance the safety of the school community.

National Award of Valor
Valor Awards are given for a single act of courage and valor, above and beyond that expected of normal incidents / actions of an SRO / school staff member.

Model Agency Award
Model agency awards are presented to Agencies that exemplify the NASRO Triad Concept, trainings, policies and standards. These practices ensure professional service to the school community and NASRO wants to recognize the following agencies for their creative and innovative approach to school based policing.

The COVID-19 pandemic has had a substantial effect upon the priorities, resources, and schedules of school districts and police departments during the 2020 awards nomination period. 

As a result of this impact, the awards nomination deadline has been extended to Friday, May 1, 2020,

at 5:00 p.m., Central Daylight Time.